Gala Inaugural Concert: Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra

Address náměstí Jana Palacha 1, Praha 1
Tags Classical
Entry CZK 150–1800
Event's website…
Venue's website…

The first performance by the season’s soloist-in-residence, Armenian violinist Sergey Khachatryan, will include the dramatic and dark Violin Concerto No. 1 by Dmitri Shostakovich. He wrote this work in the post-war years for the legendary David Oistrach, who also contributed to the solo part. The programme will begin with the Overture for Strings that the Polish composer Witold Lutoslawski wrote for what was then known as the Czechoslovak Radio Symphony Orchestra. The second half of the concert will feature Dvořák’s bright Symphony No. 8 conducted by the PRSO’s Chief Conductor Alexander Liebreich – an extraordinary experience indeed.

– Witold Lutosławski: Ouvertura for Strings
– Dmitrij Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 77
– Antonín Dvořák: Symfony no. 8 G major, op. 88

Performing artists



Sergey Khachatryan  Fantasia Carmen (live)  Sergey Khachatryan – Fantasia Carmen (live) 10:38 10 ×



Tell us the street or nearest stop from where you would like to get to the venue.

More events in venue

The Prague Vivaldi Masters 0rchestra Praha 1, Rudolfinum sat 27/7 20:00 The Prague Vivaldi Masters 0rchestra
European Union Youth Orchestra Praha 1, Rudolfinum wed 31/7 20:00 European Union Youth Orchestra
Youth Orchestra of the Netherlands Praha 1, Rudolfinum thu 1/8 19:30 Youth Orchestra of the Netherlands
Prague Vivaldi Ensemble Praha 1, Rudolfinum thu 1/8 18:00 Prague Vivaldi Ensemble

© 2019 GoOut