Chamber Series: Brahms Sonatas

Address Karmelitská 2/4, Praha 1
Tags Classical
Venue's website…


Johannes Brahms:
Sonata for Cello and Piano No. 1 in E minor, Op. 38
Sonata for Violin and Piano in D major, Op. 78 (arranged for cello)
Sonata for Cello and Piano No. 2 in F major, Op. 99

At the sixth chamber evening in the PKF – Prague Philharmonia series, the audience will be able to enjoy the virtuoso playing of the PKF orchestra leader Lukáš Pospíšil. He will be accompanied by Marek Šedivý on piano, in a programme composed solely of Johannes Brahms’ sonatas. For Marek Šedivý this means a return to his original instrument, as he is currently performing primarily as a conductor.

Chamber Dialogue across Centuries is the leitmotiv chosen for the chamber series, held at the – by now regular – host venue: the inspiring surroundings of the Czech Museum of Music. Thematic evenings will present music of various artistic styles across historical eras. In ten concerts members of the PKF – Prague Philharmonia will showcase their masterful playing in a programme which will include mainly works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, whose 260th birthday anniversary is marked in 2016, and by Johannes Brahms, whose 120th death anniversary will be remembered in 2017.

Performing artists



Tell us the street or nearest stop from where you would like to get to the venue.

More events in venue

Man – Instrument – Music Praha 1, Czech Museum of Music Permanent Man – Instrument – Music

© 2021 GoOut

I want a voucher

Support GoOut

Get a voucher that serves as an open ticket to future events.

I want a voucher